Leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident
When you first learned how to drive, you were taught to call the police if you were in an accident. However, something happened this time. Maybe you were distracted by your cell phone or a text. Maybe you fell asleep while driving and caused an accident. Maybe you tried to stop and still hit someone. Whatever happened, we can help you deal with being charged with leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey.
What are the penalties if I left the scene of an accident in new jersey and someone died or was injured?
- $2,500-$5,000 fine
- 180 days jail if accident resulted in death or injury to another
- 1 year loss of driver's license
What if I only caused property damage?
- $200-$400 fine
- Up to 30 days jail
- 6 months - 1 year loss of driver's license
Robert w. rubinstein is a
former lawrence township municipal prosecutor
"I left the scene of an accident in New Jersey because I was scared. Now what do I do?"
Call our office at 609-392-7600 to discuss your case NOW. We are experienced in handling all municipal matters and will fight tooth and nail for your rights. We continually go to Municipal Court to fight for individuals just like you who have been given a ticket by a police officer in New Jersey. We are very successful for a reason!
We handle Municipal Court violations/offense in Mercer County, Middlesex County, and Burlington County. Municipal Courts in those counties include:
Mercer County: Hamilton, Trenton, Ewing, Lawrence, Pennington, East Windsor, West Windsor, Hopewell, Princeton Township, Princeton Borough, Hightstown, and Robbinsville.
Middlesex County: Plainsboro, Cranbury, East Brunswick, South Brunswick, and Sayreville.
Burlington County: Bordentown, Burlington City, Burlington Township, Moorestown, Mount Laurel, Willingboro, Mt. Holly, Florence, and Pemberton.