Disorderly Persons Defense Attorney NJ
Disorderly Persons/Petty Disorderly Persons
Offenses In New Jersey
A disorderly persons defense attorney NJ handles complaints issued in municipal court. A Disorderly Persons offense is technically not a crime in New Jersey. A Petty Disorderly Persons offense is also technically not a crime in New Jersey. These offenses are frequently called DP or PDP for short.
Which court handles dp/pdp offenses?
Disorderly Persons and Petty Disorderly Persons offenses are typically handled in municipal court. We represent individuals charged in:
What are examples of DP/PDP offenses?
- Simple Assault NJSA 2C:12-1
- Petty Theft NJSA 2C:20-2
- Possession of marijuana under 50 grams NJSA 2C:35-10(4)
- Disorderly Conduct NJSA 2C:33-2
- Shoplifting NJSA 2C:20-11
- Harassment NJSA 2C:33-4
- Criminal Trespass NJSA 2C:18-3
Penalties for disorderly persons/petty disorder persons offenses?
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 fine
- Community service
- Suspended driver's license
Will a DP or PDP stay on my record?
Yes. Even though it is considered an offense and not a crime, it still will appear on your criminal record and on background checks.
I Need A Disorderly Persons Defense Attorney NJ. What to do now?
You can't afford to have a Petty Disorderly Persons or Disorderly Persons guilty plea show up on a background check for your next job. It needs to be taken care of now and it needs to be done right.